top of page

IMSA History

IMSA is the oldest known association of its kind in the world.  It dates back to October 1896. Membership is comprised of persons employed by governmental organizations (city, county, state, federal, province, etc.) and private corporations who are interested in promoting Public Safety in the most economical manner.  The IMSA objectives are to improve the efficiency, installation, construction, and maintenance of Public Safety equipment and systems by increasing the knowledge of its members on traffic controls, fire alarms, radio communications, roadway lighting, work zone traffic control, emergency medical services and other related systems.

Membership areas are divided into geographic sections covering North America and other group locations.  The Central Section (section 18) is made up of the State of Kansas.

IMSA Sections

01 New York State

02 Far Western

03 Indiana

04 Middle Atlantic

05 Midwestern

06 New England

07 New Jersey

08 Northwest

09 Rocky Mountain

10 Southeastern

12 Southwestern

13 Tri-State

14 Sustaining

16 New Mexico

18 Central

27 Florida

29 Michigan

30 Ontario

32 Arizona

40 British Columbia

42 Canadian Prairie

43 Great Basin

45 Atlantic

bottom of page